IS GOD PLEASED WITH ME?

2_jesus-baptismMatthew 3:17  And behold, a voice out of the heavens said, “This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased.” (NASBU)

God said this to those who heard after the baptism of his Son, Jesus.  As John the Baptizer protested baptizing Jesus, Jesus told him it was to “fulfill all righteousness.”  Jesus’ baptism showed his obedience to God’s command to John to baptize and “prepare the way of the Lord,” thus validating John’s baptism as acceptable and needed by those of that time.

Hebrews 5:8-9 tells us that Jesus “learned obedience by the things which he suffered, and having been

perfected, He became the author (source) of eternal salvation to all who obey him.”   That has always amazed me, as Jesus had to learn, as a human, what obedience is.  Yet he set the example of perfect obedience, showing man that we can obey if we choose to do so.  Disobedience stems from not knowing what God requires (hence, the need to study Scripture); it also stems from an unwillingness to do what God says (James 4:17).

A few quick questions:

  1. Am I an obedient son with whom God is well pleased?
  2. Do I have a
    rowing relationship with God that creates a desire in me to please my Father?
  3. Have I availed myself of entering and maintaining that relationship by believing the good news of Jesus Christ’s death, burial and resurrection; and obeying what was commanded in Acts 2:38? Do I avail myself of his forgiveness daily?

Am I a beloved son, in whom God is well pleased?  ARE YOU?

About tommytidwell

I am a Christian, a husband of 36 years, and a father of three wonderful sons. I am a granddad (Pawpaw) (X6 with one on the way), and my grandsons and granddaughters are the greatest. I serve as a preacher for the church of Christ; which I truly consider to be a privilege of which I am so unworthy. I serve the Lord at the South Cobb church of Christ near Atlanta, GA.
This entry was posted in My Blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

