LESSONS LEARNED FROM PLEXUS

PlexusFor those of you who are unaware, my wife and daughter in law sells a product known as Plexus, which is supposed to help in diabetes and weight loss. Many of this congregation are on the “Plexus Bandwagon,“ and as I see them drinking this (yes, I am as well) and working to sell this, some things have come to my mind about how this should be true about Christians. Below are a few of my thoughts.

First, these people are sold on the product and the good it can do for others. And I think about the fact that Christians need to be sold on Jesus Christ and him crucified. It is only Jesus that can meet man’s greatest needs, and Christians should be the people that are sold on him enough to tell others about him. In fact that is what Jesus commanded his disciples to do in Matthew 28:18-20; Mark 16:15-16 and Luke 24:44-47. As we read in Acts, they were sold on Jesus, and this is the reason why the church grew as it did. Beloved, are we sold on Jesus Christ?

Second, the ambassadors of Plexus will take “selfies” and put on Facebook and other social media bragging about how much weight they have lost and how many inches they have gone down. Again, going back to point one, they use themselves as examples of how the product is working for them. Isn’t it the case that Christians need to use themselves as example of how Jesus has changed their lives? Paul will encourage the brethren in Corinth to “Imitate me, as I imitate Christ.” (1 Corinthians 11:1). How many of us would be willing to use ourselves as examples of how Jesus has changed us, as an encouragement to others? Is this not the challenge that we all must meet – we need to live our lives in such a way so that others will want what we have in Christ?

Third, they have meetings to encourage one another in sales, and to invite newcomers to sign up to be “Ambassadors.” Not only that, but they have meetings on the internet to encourage one another through the week! I think again about the fact that this should be true of the Lord’s church. We gather together on Sundays to worship our Lord, but we are also here to meet with the saints and encourage one another. In Hebrews 10:24 (right before the writer commands us NOT to forsake the assembling of ourselves together) he states that we are to “stir up,” or “provoke” one another to love and good works. Paul stresses in Ephesians 5:18-19 that one of the purposes of singing is to “teach and admonish one another.” Beloved, are our assemblies encouraging to one another? Further, are they encouraging to visitors who have come to hear the story of Jesus? Do we teach enough about Jesus and his life that a visitor can know about Jesus and his death on the cross – and, more importantly – what he/she needs to do to come to Jesus?

Four, as I overheard a meeting Monday evening my wife was on, I listened to how one lady said that she may get discouraged, but, “I think about the people I have helped and will help. When I get discouraged, I think about those whose lives have been changed by my introducing them to Plexus.” Wow! What about us as Christians? We have let Satan and the world beat us down and make us cower in our buildings, and have stopped preaching the gospel of Jesus. When we are discouraged, we need to think about what this lady said about Plexus. We need to think about those whose lives would have been the same, or worse, because they did not know Jesus. We need to BELIEVE again in Jesus’ power to save lives, and change them for the better! While Plexus may help the physical body, Jesus helps us physically, socially and spiritually. Jesus saves us so that we will truly live forever with God in heaven – the only life that really matters.

Jesus said in Luke 16:8, “So the master commended the unjust steward because he had dealt shrewdly. For the sons of this world are more shrewd in their generation than the sons of light.” The world knows how to attract people – make a product look good, and show the difference the product has made in other people’s lives. Beloved, our responsibility is make Jesus look good by the lives we live. We are to assemble to encourage and help others to see Jesus. And when we get discouraged, we are to remember lives that have been changed by Jesus!

Pray for me, as this article has made me realize how much I need to get to work!  Encourage me!  Thanks

About tommytidwell

I am a Christian, a husband of 36 years, and a father of three wonderful sons. I am a granddad (Pawpaw) (X6 with one on the way), and my grandsons and granddaughters are the greatest. I serve as a preacher for the church of Christ; which I truly consider to be a privilege of which I am so unworthy. I serve the Lord at the South Cobb church of Christ near Atlanta, GA.
This entry was posted in My Blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

