LEARNING PATIENCE

I have been “down” the last couple of weeks due to having had surgery on my right foot. I have had plantar fascitis, and a heel spur on the back of my heels that irritated the achilles tendon.Microsoft Word - surgery_achilles_tendon_debridement-3.rtf They remove the heel spur on the back of my heel; debrided the achilles, and reattached it.  Earlier this year, I had same surgery on my left foot, and I am now dealing with the same thing on the right foot.

One of the things different from the one I had earlier this year is that I fell, and developed a blood clot in my vein in my right calf muscle, so now I am on blood thinners. I also cannot drive now, as it deals with my right foot, and I have to rely upon my sweet wife to drive me everywhere!

Some quick thoughts have come home to me:

This surgery, though minor, has tested my patience. I like to go, and I am staying at home and resting. It is driving me crazy. I have to rely on others to go anywhere and do anything. One of my sons bought a house and is painting it, and I was not able to help, nor will I be able to help him and his family move. It is frustrating to me, but . . .

I am thankful that I can walk and will, God willing, be able to overcome this. Who knows, maybe I’ll be able to run again. I hope so!

I am thankful for the fact that I am in better shape than many. As a preacher I visit nursing homes and hospitals — I have NOTHING to complain about. I’m not bedridden; not having to take chemo; nor am I in rehab struggling to walk. Yes, I am pretty blessed.

“Count your many blessings, name them one by one . . .”

 

 

 

About tommytidwell

I am a Christian, a husband of 36 years, and a father of three wonderful sons. I am a granddad (Pawpaw) (X6 with one on the way), and my grandsons and granddaughters are the greatest. I serve as a preacher for the church of Christ; which I truly consider to be a privilege of which I am so unworthy. I serve the Lord at the South Cobb church of Christ near Atlanta, GA.
This entry was posted in My Blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

